How to Make Photoshop Like Pictures for Free (and without Software)


Pic Monkey

When I did design in my undergrad, I learned to use Photoshop.  I love Photoshop, but for a normal person like me (who does not use it at work and does not make a living as a designer) it is expensive to buy! I just can’t drop … oh … $700 fucking dollars on Photoshop! Yet, I have started this little blog and I love creating images for the posts.

This post is totally sparked from one of my best friend Amanda (OMG she has the best blog ever you have to check it out! It’s about her experience as a transplant survivor called Transplanted to Life). Back to my post, she asking how I made that cool little collage in Real Girls’ Beauty Must-Haves. Today I will show you a step-by-step DIY to edit your images with PicMonkey.  It is also worth noting, I discovered this website by just researching and trying out different free website based photo editors. I can say confidently, this is by far the best online free photo editor. And guess what? You get a sneak peak at Thursday’s post!

SOMETHINGS TO KNOW ABOUT PICMONKEY

It is free! It doesn’t require a log-in! It doesn’t add weird logos tot he bottom of you pictures — unless you choose an editing option only allowed with the upgrade. You can upgrade for $2.75 a month and have access to all the PicMonkey features. If I hit 100 followers, I plan to treat myself (FOLLOW ME!)

STEP 1 – UPLOAD A PHOTO AND BEGIN EDITTING

When you get to the home page of PicMonkey, there is an option to EDIT A PHOTO or CREATE A COLLAGE. Creating a collage is super easy — you just upload your photos and try out different collage templates until you like the look. You can go directly from the collage platform to the photo edit to add text and effects. For today, we are just going to edit a photo.

Pic Monkey Before

Image before editing with PicMonkey.

STEP 2: EFFECTS

Effects change the look of the image (much like a filter on Instagram). I actually don’t use these much YET, but they are really fun to play around with. Plus, it allows you to modify the effect and have control over how it looks — take that, Instagram!

Pic Monkey Posterize

I made this image “Posterized” to add a little umph.

STEP 3: ADD TEXT

This is what initially drew me to PicMonkey — I wanted to add text to everything! I find a lot of great blogs through Pinterest, and you need something interesting to look at to get people to your blog. With this text tool, you have some really great typography fonts that blow Word out of the water. For this text, I used the “eye-drop” tool (click on the selected color displayed and it gives you the tool). This tool is incredible because it allows you to pick a color already present in your image and mimic it in the text color.

Write anything you like on your images with great typography

Write anything you like on your images with great typography.

STEP 4: ADD OVERLAYS (SHAPES OR FUN ADDITIONS)

I usually add an overlay of a simple shape to allow the text to be easily read. In addition, you can add sunglasses, hats, birds, postal symbols, you name it! This can be seen in Step 5’s image.

STEP 5: CHANGE THE FRAME OF THE IMAGE

Pretty self-explanatory, but this option allows you to spice up the border of the image. For my image, I decided to go with the rounded edges… just cause I could!

Pic Monkey Round Corners

Round your edges or add another funky frame to your image.

STEP 6: PLAY WITH ALL THE DIFFERENT SETTING AND SAVE YOUR IMAGE.

Check out the before and after (I used the collage platform for this one, baby!) It isn’t insanely different, but it looks a bit more put together and represents the post.

PicMonkey Collage

If you want to learn how to take better pictures from you iPhone (all of my images are from my iPhone because I am lazy) check out Lauryn Ann’s posting Behind the Lens: Photo Souvenirs on her blog Inspiration and a Carry On.   It is seriously a gem of information and has made me pay attention to light and my flash. Shout out to Lauryn!

love, Sarah

5 thoughts on “How to Make Photoshop Like Pictures for Free (and without Software)

  1. Love the shot out Sarah 🙂 You da’ bomb! lol. Great post too! Even when you can afford Photoshop it is a huge undertaking! I am still learning mine. Here’s another great option. Free, easy to navigate, great for showcasing your own photos! http://pixlr.com/ XO!

      • Thank you very much, I hope you are able to get access to any software that you wish to learn. I’m sure that the majority of people who design using software such as Photoshop began by learning on a pirated version. This is why I am passionate that people should be allowed access to the software, just to learn.

        By the way, if you like my daft punk app, you will love the iron man one I am going to post tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

