Britney Spears Wednesday – Anxiously Waiting for Album #8 with Nostalgia


I follow Britney on Instagram, and she posted this adorable photo of her Album 8 Recipe. Yes, 8 albums in 14 years! I feel old.

While we wait anxiously for Britney’s 8th album to drop, I thought we could revisit one of my favorite songs from her first album “… One More time” released in 1999. “Born to Make You Happy” has always made me feel very nostalgic and like a 12 year old, dancing around in my bedroom with rolled up socks for boobs, imagining what it is like to fall in love.  I hate the message this song sends [and even as a kid knew it was a bit much]. Just check out the chorus:

I don’t know how to live without your love
I was born to make you happy
‘Cause you’re the only one up in my heart
I was born to make you happy
Always and forever, you and me
That’s the way our life should be
I don’t know how to live without your love
I was born to make you happy

Yet, at the same time, it hits a cord, completely fucking nailing pathetic thoughts I had going through various break-ups. When I say various break-ups, I mean various break-ups with my now fiance. 7 years together [long distance for 3 years] results in heart-wrenching fights and stupid decisions. It is kind of crazy how the world goes on when you are going through a break-up. I remember thinking the sun wouldn’t rise again … yet it did. Sometimes you just have to embrace those pathetic thoughts and mope — while listening to some Britney.

On a side note, this video is ’90s to the extreme! The silver outfit, the blue eyeshadow, and the weird modern dance moves. Britney, I will have a pillow fight with you any day of the week!

love, Sarah

2 thoughts on “Britney Spears Wednesday – Anxiously Waiting for Album #8 with Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

