Make the Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs


egg-1

I have been battling with hard boiled eggs my entire life. I always over cook them so they are all gray in the inside – ewww. But this time I nailed it. I have actually done it twice, so I am basically a pro.

On a health note, Dr. OZ says hard boiled eggs are a top 10 daily essential. He shares,

Eggs are protein powerhouses that provide 13% of your daily protein and only 4% of your daily calories. These excellent, inexpensive protein sources fight frailty. Rich in choline, they also reduce inflammation in the brain, which has been linked to Alzheimer’s. Cook up a week’s worth in advance and take them with you on the go.

I originally found this trick in Better Homes and Garden. Maybe everyone already knows how to make a hard boiled egg, but for those late cooking bloomers like myself, here you go!

The Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

  1. Place eggs in a sauce pan before adding water.
  2. Add cold water into the sauce pan. You want to add about 1 inch of water above the eggs.
  3. COVER and turn on burner to bring water to a boil.
  4. Once water is boiling, turn off the burner.
  5. Set a timer for 15 minutes and let the eggs sit in the hot water.
  6. Prep a large boil of ice water while the eggs finish cooking.
  7. After the 15 minute mark, move the eggs directly into the ice water.
  8. Once eggs are cooled, it is time to peel them.
  9. Take one and push it on the kitchen counter, then rolling the egg with you palm. You will hear cracking.
  10. Put the cracked egg back in the water. Start peeling under water from the large end up.
  11. Repeat and eat!

I know the peeling part sounds very strange, but I tried the usual way and it was a bitch. For some reason under the water works. Better Home and Gardens says to peel the eggs under running water, but this way worked too.

I might be posting the best egg salad soon. I need to make it a few more times to properly share the recipe. I hope this helps all of you un-domestic Gods/Goddesses like me!

love, Sarah

2 thoughts on “Make the Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

  1. Pingback: Starbucks Inspired Egg Salad Sandwich | The DIY Librarian

  2. Pingback: The 10 foods that I keep stocked at all times | The Rihel Life

Leave a Reply

