My Thoughts on Staying at Home


Hey my friends! I am sorry I have been so MIA. I am taking a very needed, and unusual, month off work. I have had a ton of changes in the last few months with jobs and thought it was time for a little update.

I was going to start work as a prison librarian, but unfortunately [and fortunately] the initially salary they offered me was dropped significantly when I received the official offer. Bastards! I was a total mess, cried for about 3 days straight, and then bucked up and started applying for more jobs while I allowed them to think I was excited to start work for them. Since I already had one real job pending, I felt comfortable putting in my 2 weeks notice to my current job. My last day of work was September 11th and I was suppose to start at the prison on September 16th. In the meantime, I got a great job offer at a corporate office doing data management. I took it without even trying to negotiate. Yeah, I know that is pretty dumb, but the offer was exactly where I wanted to be out of graduate school while my previous offers were fit for someone just out of college — actually I made the same right out of my bachelor’s degree that I was being offered after a masters. Bastards!

So, I took the corporate job and can no longer say I am a real librarian. Do I need to change my blog name to The DIY Data Manager?

In the meantime, I can’t start the corporate job until October 14th because of paperwork and background checks. I have a month to be a housewife and homemaker! Since we won’t get a paycheck for me for a month, I am pretty much stuck at home taking care of our life on a strict budget.

Now, my thoughts of staying at home. It is hard and I give stay at home wives/moms/husbands/dads way more credit. I knew I wasn’t domestic, but this experience has taught me I am not a good homemaker! There are days when I don’t get dressed and days where I realize I have spent an hour just walking around my house and have accomplished nothing. There are other days when I kill it and redo a whole room. I am super grateful to have this small time to wear the domestic hat because it has changed my whole perception of how I see this role. It has allowed me to spend time with my family, take care of things around the house that were on the “to-do” list, and I have been able to take care of my fiancee and put him first. Yet, the drawbacks are huge. Others [like my parents] think I am doing nothing and can assist them in any moment. My fiancee and I have already had the “I have been working all day, what have you been doing” fight a few times and it sucks because I am doing stuff but it isn’t measurable like working is. Personally, I feel like being the one who stays at home is actually more of a sacrifice than working. I am too selfish and undomestic to do it properly. With that said, I have so enjoyed it because I know I will never do it again.  I have found dressing up like a 50s housewife makes it more fun!

housewife

To all you stay at home people, you have my respect. I thought it would be such an easy job and I am happy to have been proven wrong.

love, Sarah

5 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Staying at Home

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Cleaning Supplies | The DIY Librarian

  2. Thanks so much for giving us housewives and stay at home Moms credit! Yes, it is hard and it is a sacrifice. For me, it has been such a learning and trial and error experience, but I love it. It definitely requires a lot of creativity and discipline. For instance, I always get up in the morning and get dressed for the day. I treat Mon thru Fri as my work days- I get stuff done around the house or for our family. It can be lonely, and there are many hard days. But I chose this lifestyle and I am so grateful for it, regardless of the cost. It can be tempting to look at the world and think “I accomplished nothing today” because I didn’t make money or do something amazing, but that is part of the beauty. Again, thanks for the recognition, it is indeed a mostly thankless job (except for my husband who thanks me every day). But, I’m a nurse and that is a mostly thankless job too so I had some practice. 🙂

    • I have had many of those “I accomplished nothing today” days. I need to do as you suggested: get up in the morning and GET DRESSED and bring more creativity into my day. Like I said, I give you ladies (and men) credit! It does take a lot of sacrifice and diligence in a way that is under appreciated.

  3. First things first, I love the update! 🙂 Secondly, it’s actually quite funny because I find myself with one week off before starting a new job as well and yet I couldn’t bare to keep my butt in the house all 7 days lol – that’s how bad I am at staying home. Your post has literally found me on the last day of my vaca, with my feet in the sand, saddened by the fact that I have to go home tomorrow to face real life. Shit, I couldn’t even bare the thought of a free week at home, I literally jumped into a car on a getaway to escape it. Staying at home is definitely not easy and I give so much credit where credit is SO due 🙂 At the same time, enjoy it! Enjoy every minute of it, because we only get so much relaxation time by ourselves. It is what we make of it. You should enjoy yours before your awesome, new adventure!!! Let’s catch up before it! Xoxo. L

Leave a Reply

